Creative corner

I’ve been wanting to make a creative corner for the wee man for a little while now.  The problem is that making it involved a trip to Ikea which proved more difficult than I had imagined.  First we were thwarted by illness and then by a road closure, so it was with some sense of achievement that Mr H and I (with A in tow) finally entered the ubiquitous blue and yellow shed yesterday.  The feeling didn’t last and oh my goodness the cafe was a welcome sight.  Still, we made it.  Hip hip hooray.

I have to confess now that I rather like flat pack furniture, not necessarily for its aesthetic value but for the satisfaction of being able to build it myself.  I am odd, I know, but in good company at least…the wee man did an excellent job of pushing little wooden pegs into the pre-drilled holes and seemed delighted when a child-sized chair materialised a few minutes later.  He even progressed onto using a screwdriver and a spirit level when it came to fixing the rail for the crayon pots.

So far wee man seems to love his little table.  It’s in a corner of the dining room and after every mealtime today he’s wanted to go over and sit there.  He spent a long time drawing and then we got the playdough out and dog was invited to sit in the other chair and eat playdough biscuits.  Yum yum.  The plan is to store crafty bits and bobs in the trays and perhaps add a couple of out-of-reach shelves for some of the paints etc.  I’m also planning to add a washing line type thing to display A’s artwork.  The table and chairs was a mere £16.99 and I’m not expecting it to last forever but when it gets a little too coloured in I’ll get out the blackboard paint and give it a new lease of life.

1 Response to “Creative corner”


  1. 1 Rhoda May 9, 2012 at 7:36 am

    Ohhh, how nice, I see the wee man seems to be very artistic, I like the red and yellow dotted art work he has done.


Leave a Reply

